Skip to content

Nervous About My Home Energy Audit

August 26, 2010

Minneapolis Blower Door

Image via Wikipedia

I live in a home that was built in 1960.  When I bought it 4 years ago it was incredibly inefficient from an energy use and conservation standpoint.  We spent some time bringing it up to date aesthetically as well as doing things like adding insulation to the exterior walls, updating the HVAC and replacing some of the old windows and doors.

Having lived in the home now I am very aware that it is has some drafty areas as well as some areas that are greatly affected by heat gain from the sun during the morning hours.  I can remember having the conversation with my architect and her suggesting Low-E windows and since I wasn’t quite sure what that meant, I declined.  <<- Big Mistake at least in our living room that gets lots of morning sun.

Well, tomorrow we are having an energy audit performed by Retrofit America which will look at different elements of our house including HVAC, insulation, water heating, windows, air sealing and all kinds of other items that I’ll know more about tomorrow. A couple of the common tools they will be using are the duct blaster and blower door test.

I’m really looking forward to having it done and will document the process and results for GreentotheScene.com once I have received the report.  Wish me luck and check back for the results!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

